Chart Keeping Tips

Keeping track of your pattern on a chart is something we all run into at some point. I’ve done this several different ways depending on the size of the chart and the projects.

I’m going to show you the “tried and true” and then something new and very handy.

First there’s the metal and magnets cross stitchers, crocheters and knitters have been using for years. Very easy to use. I’ve added the step of slipping the chart keeper and the pattern into a page protector sleeve. This protects the pattern and allows me to make notes or other marks with a dry erase marker to help me on my way.

IMG_0654IMG_0656

Next up is a keeper that works the same way but comes in a prettier package, will stand on its own, and closes to half size for convenience and also to protect the pattern.

IMG_0657IMG_0658IMG_0664

Finally there’s the method I’ve been using for my current Work In Progress. I’ve been working on a Fair Isle Sampler Poncho using patterns from a book. Rather than make copies of the patterns so I could load them onto one of the above chart keepers, I found this magical thing…. Post It’s by the roll.

IMG_0652

I found the “tape” to be a bit too wide so I simply pull out the length I want and cut it in half.

IMG_0674

Then I can put the strips directly into the book and move them as I work. No damage to the book. No hassle with making copies.

IMG_0675       IMG_0667        IMG_0666

One more note, when I first started doing this, I would only show the row I was working between the strips. Now I show the one I’m working and the one below. It helps me double check my place on the row. Buy yourself some Post It Tape and try it out!

‘Static Happy Knitting!

Leave a comment