The Fair Isle Sampler Poncho

I Finally Finished!

I loved this project. I combined a desire to practice my Fair Isle technique with a need to reduce my stash and the result is beautiful. (If I do say so myself).

The pattern is a simple rectangle 124 stitches wide (120 for the pattern + 2 on each edge) with a garter stitch border on the bottom and open side. The top was knitted together using an I-cord from the bottom edge to the neck opening. The neck opening is several rows of knitting to create a curled “collar”.

IMG_0715

The Fair Isle patterns all came from 200 Fair Isle Motifs: A Knitter’s Dictionary.

IMG_0675

I chose motifs simply by making sure the stitch count would multiply evenly to 120.

I can think of several more variations on the Basic Rectangle Poncho. A stitch sampler rather than a Fair Isle sampler. Cable practice. Lace stitch practice.

Use your imagination to create your own one of a kind poncho.

‘Static Happy Knitting!

One thought on “The Fair Isle Sampler Poncho

Leave a comment